May 12, 2004abuse@netins.net - trained monkeys or is that giving monkeys a bad name?I have an email in my inbox from abuse at netins.net - so I am guessing they have finally come to their senses, they are going to close the site (which is still up as of 5:00pm EST). Original Story What does chris from abuse tell me? Does he read the email I sent them? Understand the issuse? Nope. He send me an email talking about the sender in the header - which did use pacbell.net. Which is fine, but emailing them will not get the site shutdown, they don't own the ip space. Complaining about the spam is useless - what will they do? Do you really think it is someone's home account? That is not the issue. Instead, on their ip space, they have the scammer's site. But that seems too confusing to chris, who replied with this information. Thank you for your report. The incident you describe did not originate from the netINS network or any downstream providers (those who have leased part of our network). Please send your report to the network from which the incident appears to have originated - OrgName: Pac Bell Internet Services Likely email address(es) for this report - abuse@pbi.net It's better that they hear of the incident directly from you, so that you will receive all replies from them promptly. Thank you. Well golly gee Chris, I contacted you directly and that didn't do anything. 43 hours later and the scam is still active. Netins and Fastdnsservers Team Up To Deliver You A Scamhttp://cgi-secure-paypal.com/index.htm - cut and paste that into your browser. I would suggest a non-ie browser just in case. What do you see? Paypal!!! Nope, just someone spammed me yet another paypal scam. They are hosted by fastdnsservers.com, who seems to get their bandwidth from netins.net - Iowa's Largest ISP!! Now that is some bragging! Of course fastdnsservers.com is one of those quality companies with no phone number and nothing on their website. Besides hosting crap like this, they are well known for hosting spyware/scumware. Good stuff. So 24 hours ago I emailed abuse at both companies. I called netins noc center, but I am pretty sure at night it is staffed by talking monkeys as the thing on the other end of the phone was confused by the phrase IP address. So this morning I called Joe Craig - a business rep and pled my case. Obvious scam site. He was flustered, and after hemming and hawing (he-hawing?), I guess when you host fastdnsservers.com you are used to hearing bad news, he finally said he would take care of it then was about to hang up. Problem is, I hadn't given him the domain name. Way to go Joe! I picked joe because he answered his phone and had two first names. I thought a man so important to have two first names could easily handle an obvious case of fraud. But no. Not Joe. The scam is still up. I believe even the spammer thought his site would be shutdown by now because they stopped spamming. So we have two american based companies, supporting an obvious scam to steal people's pay pal accounts, they have been emailed, they have been called. What has happened? Nothing. If this can continue in America after two supposedly legit companies have been contacted and the issue of the fraud been given to them in detail in their native language - what hope do we have when these scams are run from servers in Korea or China? I just don't understand, does netins and fastdnsservers think no one will mention their companies did nothing? That it will all just go away if they do nothing? Give Joe a call at 877-637-2991, ask him for the paypal scam special. |